Porter Fleming Literary Competition

Submissions for the Porter Fleming Literary Competition are open from now until Feb. 5, 2016. There are 4 categories in which you may enter work which are: fiction, nonfiction, poetry and one-act plays. Fiction and nonfiction should only be a maximum of 2,500 words. Poetry is limited to 3 poems per entry and no more than 5 pages total. Plays are limited to a total of 15 pages. The winners in each category will win $1,000 for first place, $500 for second place and $250 for third place. There is a $15 per entry fee payable to the Morris Museum of Art (in poetry, 3 poems can count as one entry). You may submit as many entries in as many categories as you want. For more information on submissions guidelines and to download your entry form, make sure to check out their “details” page.

Iris N. Spencer Poetry Awards and Myong Cha Son Haiku Award and The Rhina P. Espaillat Poetry Award

The deadline for submitting work to the Iris N. Spencer Poetry Awards and the Myong Cha Son Haiku Award is March 15, 2016. Submissions should be traditional in terms of meter, rhyme and received forms. Both will award $1,500 to their first prize winners and $500 to their runner-ups. For the Rhina P. Espaillat Poetry Award, the poem must be written in Spanish or be translations of Spanish poems to English. The first prize for this award is $500.  This annual competition is only open to undergraduate poets enrolled in a college or university in the United States. The author’s name, address, phone number and school should be submitted on a separate paper from their work. There is no entry fee and multiple entries are accepted. You can email entries to poetry(at)wcupa(edu) or mailed to:

WCU Poetry Awards
Poetry House
West Chester University
West Chester, PA 19383


Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind