SCAD Alumni Atelier Award

The SCAD Alumni Atelier Award is being offered to any SCAD alumni (from an undergraduate or graduate degree program) who has shown exemplary work in their field of study and desires to create in the uniquely inspiring environments that SCAD has. The recipient of the award will be invited to Savannah, Atlanta, or Lacoste and work under the guidance of SCAD President, Paula Wallace. They shall receive $25,000 in travel costs, meals (a SCAD meal plan will be issued), supplies ($9,000), and honoraria ($10,000). Accommodations will be provided on campus and are for the recipient only and an on-campus workspace will be provided.

For the application, project a proposal summary of 500 words (max) that summarizes required materials, workshops for students and the intended impact of your project. Propose a schedule (list or timeline) in 1 page (max) so that is fits in within the duration of the residency you apply for (fall, winter, spring, or summer). Also provide a video that explains your process, how the project will use resources within the SCAD community, and explain how you anticipate this program can contribute to your continued work and success as a SCAD alumni.

Please contact atelier(at)scad(dot)edu for an application and to submit your proposal.

Salem College International Literary Awards

The Center for Women Writers encourages writers to submit work to their International Literary Awards for 2016. The 3 awards being offered are: the Reynolds Price Short Fiction Award (for fiction up to 5,000 words), the Penelope Niven Creative Nonfiction Award (for creative nonfiction up to 5,000 words), and the Rita Dove Poetry Award (for any 3 poems in any style).

The awards are open to any person submitting their work in English. The contest will open Dec. 1, 2015 and the postmark deadline is Jan. 15, 2016. For online submissions, the deadline is extended to Jan. 31, 2016. The winner in each genre will receive $1,000 and the Honorable Mention in each category will receive $150. There is a $15 entry fee and announcements about winners will be made on their website on or before May 31, 2016.

YA Novel Discovery Contest

The YA Novel Discovery Contest allows writers interested in writing YA fiction to submit the first 250 words of their novel and win exposure to editors and a reading of the manuscript by Regina Brooks, one of New York’s top literary agents. The Grand Prize winner will have the opportunity to submit their whole manuscript to Regina Brooks of Serendipity Literary Agency and receive a collection of gourmet teas from Possibiliteas. The top 5 entrants (including the grand prize winner) will receive a 15 minute, one-on-one pitch session with Regina Brooks and will receive commentary on their submissions from editors from Scholastic, Random House/Penguin, Little Brown, Candlewick, Bloomsbury, Simon and Schuster, and Abrams Books.

To enter, submit the first 250 words of your manuscript and the title on the contest website. There is a $15 entry fee and entries will be accepted until 12:01 am (ET) Nov 1 until 11:59 Nov. 30 (ET).


Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind