CutBank announces the opening of its annual contests Dec. 1 for the 2013 Montana Prize in Fiction, Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, and Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry.

Submissions  will be accepted Dec. 1, 2012 through March 1, 2013. Winners receive $500 and publication in CutBank 79. All submissions will be considered for publication in CutBank. The $17 entry fee includes a one-year, two-issue subscription to CutBank, beginning with the prize issue, CutBank 79.

Please send your best work.  With all three of these awards, we are seeking to highlight work that showcases an authentic voice, an original perspective, and willingness to push against the boundaries of the form at hand. For more information and guidelines, check out and to submit, visit

This year’s judges are the following:

Montana Prize in Fiction Judge – Maile Meloy

Maile Meloy is the author of the novels Liars and Saints and A Family Daughter, and the story collections Half in Love and Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It, which was named one of the Ten Best Books of 2009 by the New York Times Book Review and one of the best books of the year by the Los Angeles Times and

Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction Judge – John D’Agata

John D’Agata is the author of The Lifespan of a Fact, About a Mountain, and Halls of Fame, and editor of The Next American Essay and The Lost Origins of the Essay. He teaches creative writing at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, where he lives.

Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry Judge – Cole Swensen

Cole Swensen in the author of 14 books of poetry, most recently Gravesend (U. of California Press, 2012) and Stele (Post-Apollo Press, 2012), and a collection of critical essays, Noise That Stays Noise (U. of Michigan Press, 2011).  She teaches in the Literary Arts Department at Brown University.



Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers